top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSadie Hope

August Wrap Up

August was a strange month. Maybe for just me? I don’t know. 2020 just… **gestures vaguely**

But I am underway with the new school year and my lack of reading is definitely a byproduct of that. Not to mention - I probably took too many August ARCs? But I will try to space them out for myself from now on. (I don’t know where I am going with that…) Anyways. A week late - my August Wrap Up.

Favorite Overall of the Month: Only When It's Us. (Though Always Only You also by Chloe Liese is a VERY close second.) I don’t even feel bad it is on here twice. New to me author Chloe Liese rocked me the first week of August when I found her Bergman Brother’s series. I loved both and read them in two days and then couldn’t stop… haven’t stopped… thinking about them since.


Favorite ARC of the Month: Favorite ARC was this sweet little MM romance with some serious hockey moments - Trade Deadline. It was gentle and lovely and **fans self** ridiculously hot when they got down to it. Do yourself a favor and pick this up and sit in the September sunshine and let an afternoon go by.


Quote of the Month: “You have to understand, and help him, dear. Not repair him.” ― Jennifer Ashley, The Seduction Of Elliot McBride Great historical romance book with some serious pining, a broken hero, a highly organized heroine and they were friends as children - which is rarely done this well.

Something New: Karen Rose - romantic suspense I have found to be hit or miss. Or maybe that is me. I loved this though! Say You're Sorry was intense and awesome and I loved that heroine and the hero needed a hug. Can't wait to read more!


Something Old: I’ll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara came out a couple of years ago (2018) after being completed in her memory. It is not at all something that I would usually pick up. True crime - while fascinating in a documentary form - is not something I have been known to seek out. I loved this book though. McNamara’s voice and storytelling is absolutely stunning. My long suffering and wonderful PR - had to endure me reading huge sections out loud despite watching the whole series with me. She doesn’t glorify the crimes in any way but also explores her own relationship - and near obsession - with solving these crimes. It is also an amazing monument to her after her death.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page