top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSadie Hope

Favorite PJs and Other Reasons To Reread a favorite!

“But there are millions of books out there - why are you reading that one again?”

Honestly - fair question. There are more books on my TBR pile (that never stops growing) than even I can ever read. But I reread books constantly. Why?


Well…


1. Sometimes I just want to have some peace of mind.

You know that pair of flannel pajama bottoms that are like one step away from see-through but are literally the most comfortable thing you own? I may or may not pair mine with Darn Toughs and call it

Vermont Lingerie but moving on - those (usually) hideous PJs epitomize comfort and safety - a haven from the world. That is exactly why I reread books. That feeling of safety and comfort - the reason I curl up in the same corner of the couch to watch Jeopardy every night. That is why I read the same book hundreds and hundreds (literally) of times. I want to know that Devil will find Felicity picking locks in a hot pink dress and be totally smitten. I need that certainty in a world without it.




2. I read really fast.

Sometimes too fast. And I miss things and I can go back and see how well - or sadly and far more rarely not so well- things fit together. It lets me savor a book more - I am not rushing headlong through to make sure that everyone is okay. (I mean - yeah we are all in it for a HEA but sometimes it still doesn’t seem likely!) I have found most of my favorite quotes or passages in round two or three of a book.


3. I am a different person every time I go back to the same books.


Some of the first romance novels I ever read were Julia Quinn’s Bridgertons - I was 19. I am now nearly 31 and I am definitely not the same woman. When I first read those books each character was bright and shiny and wonderful - because I was basically a child with a dorm room. But on a recent reread of those books I had totally different reactions to them. I viewed characters with a more worldly view (Is Colin Bridgerton a good guy or a fuckboi?); I took a hard look author choice (Let’s take a good long look at Daphne and consent in the era of Me Too); even issues within the story have changed because I have changed (Eloise - I get it now.) So though the actual prose might be the same - I am definitely not the same person reading them. For the record though - I still read Julia Quinn and think she is brilliant and have her on autobuy. (And if you haven’t - got get First Comes Scandal!)


4. A new book in a series is coming out!

Many of my favorite authors write brilliant series that take years to publish. (Fancy meeting you here, Ms. Gabaldon!) Generally, these books have a lot of characters, details or story elements that after reading many other books in the interim - I have lost track of. I like those series to be as fresh as possible (plus get to revisit favorites: see reason one) so that any details that are needed are fresh in my mind.


5. At least those never disappoint me.

One of my major Bookish Moods ™ is the anticipation for a forthcoming novel from a favorite author and then it is… a letdown. Often waiting months or years for a book I have a tendency to build it up in my mind and that can lead to disappointment. Either the characters felt weird, it felt too much like a previous work by the author or even just the story base trope was not something that draws me in. When this happens - I turn to a book that I know is a favorite knowing it would never betray me to such heartbreak. I am consoled by the familiarity and joy brought to me by a book that has never let me down.


Do you reread? Why or why not? What is something you love to reread?


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page