top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSadie Hope

October Wrap Up

September was my slowest reading month of the year with only twelve books (a lot of rereading happened as the school year got under way) - but October more than made up for it! I participated in my first ever arctober which was fun and will definitely remember that that comes around next year. There are some ARCs that I can’t wait to tell you about that come out later this year and in early 2021… But I also had a great time this month with some old favorites like romantic suspense, mc romance and Dark Protectors.

Favorite Overall of the Month: This was sort of a shocker and it was also an ARC - and made me want snow early which is unusual as once the snow comes where I live it stays for about seven months… A Very Highland Holiday - epic anthology that is totally worth it. Each short story only complements the others (definitely don’t pick and choose but read straight through!) and they are all alternately funny, searingly sexy and wickedly emotional! Definitely can’t wait to reread with the twinkle lights up and a glass of whisky in December.


Favorite ARC of the Month: Who guessed it??? Rebecca Zanetti’s Guardian’s Grace was definitely my favorite. I feel bad for my other ARCs this month… but this one was just amazing. I read it back in July (‘cause I have less than negative amounts of chill…) and reread it. Absolutely a delight! Sort of marriage/ mating of convenience, definitely a second chance and a solid mystery. My favorite so far of what I refer to as “season two” of the Dark Protectors. I still cannot wait for Garret’s story and am weirdly psyched for Benny’s?? But I also just loved that Simone and Nick showed up!



Quote of the Month: "I loved him. I loved Arthur more than life itself. His darkness and his lifestyle meant nothing compared to that. I loved him despite the malice in his soul. I loved him because of it. Not everyone was meant for a life of roses and summer days, all pretty petals and fragrant perfumes. Some were meant for a life of winter and thorns. It didn’t mean they couldn’t have love." - Lord of London Town, Tillie Cole


Something New: Debut author - Mindy McKinley! You won’t see her on my photos until next month but I have been lucky enough to work with this awesome human on a series and her first series is debuting in November! She is super awesome and writes lovely books that you just want to curl up with. (But also need to fan yourself during…)



Something Old: I reread an old Elizabth Hoyt because an instagram buddy was reading it for the first time - Scandalous Desires! Part of the Maiden Lane series. River pirate, gentle heroine - and so much slow burn action. I totally remember why it was a favorite of the series the first time through.


Favorite Pair: Arthur Adley and Cheska Harlow-Wright from Tillie Cole’s newest dark romance - Lord of London Town. Brilliant book from start to finish. Dark, angsty, beautiful and sexy as sin. But the pair of them being stronger together and the beauty of two broken people making something whole - love it. Plenty of content warnings are needed- see review on Goodreads or Instagram for more details - and I am still nursing a book hangover from this.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page