top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSadie Hope

Top Five... Well, Six Series!

I have been thinking a lot about series lately - partly because I am reading in order more often lately - but also because there are some enormous series that deserve to be seen as a whole because they are just epic when put together. (And I am amazed that authors have created these whole casts and worlds!) So here are five - ahem, six - of my all-time favorite series.



Brothers’ Sinister by Courtney Milan (Historic)

  • Fabulous novellas

  • Diverse cast

  • Heavy issues

  • Best side characters

  • Sex positive discussions

I read this entire series in a week and spent the next month reeling from it. There are really hard issues that are tackled from racism to unplanned teen pregnancy (in the 19th century) to abuse and sexual assault. It is a heavy series. And it is amazing. This cast of characters makes you ache and root for each couple - and the side couples almost steal every book! Side note: if you do pick this series up - realize it is not light reading and do yourself a favor and make sure not to skip the novellas.


Dark Protectors/ Realm Enforcers by Rebecca Zanetti (Paranormal)

  • Every kind of couple you could imagine

  • Strong heroines

  • Badass heroes

  • Pure escapism

Sometimes I don't want something as intense as Ms. Milan - but I still want some action. I really wasn’t a paranormal kind of a girl but DAMN. I think part of why I love this paranormal series so much is that really it is based on science and it is a fun twist. Not to mention - great banter, great sexytimes and a general sense of wildness. PLUS - it has huge ongoing storylines that take literally the whole series to be solved and it is fab. Technically - Realm Enforcers is more of a spin off (think Buffy and Angel) but really they need to be all together and I refuse to sideline some of my favorites.


Smythe-Smith Quartet by Julia Quinn (Historic)

  • Side characters get a new take

  • Friends to lovers/ wrong person to fall for

  • One of my all time favorite heroes! - Hugh Prentice

I know that everyone knows the Bridgertons and are very excited for the Netflix series - but really I love this “spinoff” quartet more. (And am secretly hoping that the Bridgertons do so well we get a series for this too!) Remember those horrible and awkward musicales? Well - settle in for this family that is full of love and laughter and a little bit higher stakes than the Bridgertons. There are some great friends to lovers, falling for the wrong person and a super grumpy hero who happens to be one of my all time favorites! This is definitely on the slightly darker side overall than the Bridgertons but still not Dark (™).


Bareknuckle Bastards by Sarah MacLean (Historic)

  • Found family

  • Great banter

  • Heroines I Would Die For

I love me some historic romance but more often than not - most of it takes place during tea or during a ball… and there was a lot of history that didn’t take place or part in any of those. SO - I loved the grittiness and avoidance of balls during the Bareknuckle Bastards. But what really did it for me? These outrageous heroines and the found family. Lady Felicity, Lady Hattie and Grace are all so unabashedly badass in entirely different ways and I loved it. Being a badass warrior lady doesn’t have to be one size fits all and MacLean is a master of that. And found families? So valid. So important. And just plain awesome. These humans are thrown together and they grab each other and raise each other up and I love it. Not to mention - there are some wickedly sexy moments.



True North by Sarina Bowen

  • Small town romance

  • Real life

  • Great characters

  • Vermont

I love a romance that I could literally watch play out. Ms Bowen’s True North covers that. These are real people, with real baggage or issues and they really deal with it. Whether it is making rent or surviving addiction or being bisexual - all these books just have great heart. Not to mention - Vermont. (I have no shame, thank you for asking.)




Ravenswood by Talia Hibbert (Contemporary)

  • Small town

  • Grumpy/ nerdy heroines

  • Great banter

  • Food is love (YES!)

  • Gut wrenching in between laughing

I love small town romances - maybe it is ‘cause I still live in a small town? - and Ravenswood is an awesome (albeit at times judgey) town but has some great stories that go down in it. This series has high stakes and Ms. Hibbert makes you work for those happy endings but there are great and honest moments of laughing through the tears.




Honorable Mentions:

  • Mackenzies and McBrides by Jennifer Ashley (Historic)

    • Historical romance that spans generations - honestly should probably be on the list? But I am slowly going through it so I don’t catch up and am not sure about it as a whole yet.


  • Hartigans/ Ice Knights by Avery Flynn (Hockey/ Contemporary/ Romcom)

    • Hockey, banter, sex positive - some of the heroines needed a slap to stop being so passive.

  • Chaos Chasers by CM Marin (MC Romance)

    • Gentler MC romance (not a lot of swearing or violence but some cute characters) - not all the books are out so I decided it wasn’t allowed to be on the list.


  • Pucked by Helena Hunting (Hockey)

    • Raunchy and ridiculous and at times unexpectedly emotional - I didn’t love the end of the series as much as the beginning


  • Hades Hangmen by Tillie Cole (MC Romance)

    • Wickedly dark and violent and (mostly) worth it in the end. - didn’t make it because some of the books were too graphic or horrific and stomach turning for me.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page